09_Dec
December 2009
12_Jun
June 2012
June 2006
June 2006
07_Dec
December 2007
08_Jun
June 2008
March 2004
March 2004
10_Mar
March 2010
12_Dec
December 2012
13_Mar
March 2013
11_Mar
March 2011

History

Canadian Acoustical Association

The history of the Canadian Acoustical Association (CAA) dates back to a meeting of 18 persons interested in acoustics, held at the National Research Council in Ottawa, Ontario, on March 29, 1962. The discussions there indicated that activities in acoustics within Canada should be structured and coordinated. The following year, a second meeting was held, and the group adopted the title Canadian Committee on Acoustics for its activities. Tom Northwood was appointed chair and Tony Embleton was appointed secretary. The group continued its activities for the next nine years, and held regular annual meetings at different locations in the Provinces of Ontario and Quebec.

The year 1972 was a major milestone for the committee. During a meeting at McGill University, in Montreal, Quebec, the question was raised: “Where do we go from here?”  Two items that arose were the publication of a newsletter and a change in the name of the organization. The first issue of the newsletter was published, and a guest article dealt with the question of how the organization should be structured: as a committee, an association, or a society. Regular annual meetings continued, and at the meeting in 1974, the name Canadian Acoustical Association /Association Canadienne d’Acoustique (CAA/ACA) was adopted. The CAA Newsletter continued to be published, and, by 1975, the number of copies in circulation exceeded 250. The incorporation process was initiated in 1976 by Hugh Jones, and the organization was officially incorporated on April 22, 1977. In 2014, Articles of Continuance were filed by Frank Russo under the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act along with an update to the By-law, and later approved on May 29, 2015.

The CAA became a Member Society of International INCE in 1978 with John Hemingway appointed as the first CAA representative. Work continued on the improvement and upgrading of the newsletter; its format was changed in 1978, and in 1983 it became more of a technical journal with news and its name was changed to Canadian Acoustics / Acoustique Canadienne. The journal is currently published quarterly, including refereed papers in both of Canada’s official languages (English and French), with Umberto Berardi serving as Editor-in-Chief.

A major event in the history of the CAA was the organization of the 12th International Congress on Acoustics which was held in Toronto, Ontario in July, 1986, in conjunction with the 25th meeting of the CAA. The meeting was a great success with 954 participants from 36 countries.

The CAA holds its general conference, Acoustics Week in Canada, in the fall of each year at different locations across the country. Conferences generally draw 100–200 participants, and consist of special plenary seminars, a symposium of two or more days of organized sessions on all aspects of acoustics, laboratory or concert-hall tours, presentation of products by their manufacturers and a social program (reception, banquet, awards ceremony). Summary papers are published September, in a proceedings issue of Canadian Acoustics. Recent meetings have been held in Winnipeg (2014), Montreal (2013), Banff (2012), Quebec City (2011), and Victoria (2010).

The CAA actively encourages and supports excellence in students and young professionals studying/working in acoustics in Canada, with student travel subsidies available for CAA conferences and other acoustics conferences, student and young-professional paper and presentations awards, a major post-doctoral award (the Edgar and Millicent Shaw Postdoctoral Prize in Acoustics), graduate student awards in a number of specialized areas of acoustics, an undergraduate award, and a high-school award for science fair projects in acoustics. Hugues Nelisse is presently serving as the CAA Awards Coordinator.

The CAA currently has more than 300 members. The Association is administered by a Board of Directors, with eight elected directors serving four-year terms, and an Executive presently consisting of President (Frank Russo), Past President (Christian Giguère), Executive Secretary (Roberto Racca), Treasurer (Dalila Giusti), and Editor-in-Chief (Umberto Berardi).

12_Mar
Mars 2012
09_Jun
Juin 2009
11_Mar
Mars 2011
08_Mar
Mars 2008
10_Dec
Décembre 2010
10_Mar
Mars 2010
11_Dec
Décembre 2011
13_Mar
Mars 2013
08_Dec
Décembre 2008
10_Jun
Juin 2010

Histoire

Association canadienne d’acoustique

L’histoire de l’Association canadienne d’acoustique (ACA) remonte à une réunion tenue au Conseil national de recherches Canada à Ottawa, en Ontario, le 29 Mars 1962. Les 18 personnes présentes intéressées en acoustique auraient exprimé que les activités dans le domaine de l’acoustique au Canada devraient être structurées et coordonnées. L’année suivante, une deuxième réunion a eu lieu, et le groupe a adopté le titre de Comité canadien en acoustique pour ses activités. Tom Northwood a été nommé président et Tony Embleton, secrétaire. Le groupe a poursuivi ses activités pour les neuf prochaines années, et a tenu des réunions régulières chaque année à différents endroits dans les provinces de l’Ontario et du Québec.

L’année 1972 a été une étape importante pour le comité. Lors d’une réunion à l’Université McGill, Montréal, Québec, la question a été posée: «Et maintenant, où allons-nous? » Deux points ont été soulevés, la publication d’un bulletin et le changement du nom de l’organisation. Le premier numéro du bulletin a été publié, avec un article d’invité traitait de la question de savoir comment l’organisation devrait être structuré: en tant qu’un comité, une association ou une société. Les réunions annuelles régulières se sont poursuivies, et lors de la réunion en 1974, le nom de Canadian Acoustical Association / Association canadienne d’acoustique (CAA / ACA) a été adopté. Le Bulletin CAA a continué à être publié, et, en 1975, son tirage dépassait les 250 copies. Le processus d’incorporation a été lancé en 1976 par Hugh Jones, et l’organisation a été officiellement constituée le 22 avril, 1977. En 2014, les articles de prorogation ont été déposés par Frank Russo sous la Loi canadienne sur les organisations à but non lucratif en même temps qu’une mise à jour du règlement, plus tard approuvé le 29 mai, 2015.

L’ACA est devenue une société membre de l’INCE internationale en 1978, avec John Hemingway nommé comme le premier représentant de la CAA. Les travaux se sont poursuivis sur l’amélioration et la modernisation du bulletin; son format a été modifié en 1978, et en 1983, il ressemblait plus à une revue technique avec des nouvelles et son nom a été changé à Canadian Acoustique / Acoustique canadienne. Le journal est actuellement publié trimestriellement, y compris les documents à comité de lecture dans les deux langues officielles du Canada (français et anglais), avec Umberto Berardi œuvrant en tant qu’éditeur en chef.

Un événement majeur dans l’histoire de la CAA a été l’organisation du 12e International Congress on Acoustics à Toronto, en Ontario, en juillet 1986, conjointement avec la 25e réunion de la CAA. La réunion a été un grand succès avec 954 participants provenant de 36 pays.

Le CAA tient sa conférence générale, la Semaine canadienne de l’acoustique, à l’automne de chaque année à différents endroits à travers le pays. Cette conférence attire généralement entre 100 et 200 participants, et comporte des séminaires, des séances plénières, un symposium de deux jours ou plus avec des sessions organisées sur tous les aspects de l’acoustique, de laboratoire ou des visites de salle de concert, des expositions de matériel par leurs manufacturiers et d’un programme social (réception, banquet, remise des prix). Les actes de cette conférence sont publiés dans un numéro de septembre de la revue Acoustique canadienne. Les récentes conférences ont eu lieu à Winnipeg (2014), Montréal (2013), Banff (2012), la ville de Québec (2011), et Victoria (2010).

La CAA encourage et soutient activement l’excellence chez les étudiants et les jeunes professionnels étudiant / travaillant en acoustique au Canada, avec des subventions de voyage pour étudiants disponibles pour les conférences de la CAA et d’autres conférences de l’acoustique, des prix soulignant les papiers et présentations d’étudiant et jeunes-professionnel, un prix post-doctoral majeur (Le Prix Post-doctoral Edgar et Millicent Shaw en acoustique), des prix pour étudiants de cycle supérieur dans plusieurs domaines spécialisés de l’acoustique, un prix de premier cycle, et un prix pour les étudiants au secondaire pour des projets d’expo-sciences en acoustique. Hugues Nelisse est actuellement le coordonnateur de ces prix et récompenses.

Présentement, la CAA compte plus de 300 membres. L’Association est administrée par un conseil d’administration, avec huit administrateurs élus exerçant un mandat de quatre ans, et d’un exécutif ayant actuellement un Président (Frank Russo), un président sortant (Christian Giguère), un secrétaire exécutif (Roberto Racca), un trésorier (Dalila Giusti), et un éditeur en chef (Umberto Berardi).